AGCRA 2024 Scholarship Winners

AGCRA 2024 Scholarship Winners

On behalf of COL (Ret) Robert L. Manning, AGCRA President, and members of the AGCRA National Executive Council (NEC), it is the Association's distinct honor and pleasure to announce the 2024 AGCRA $1,000 Scholarship Winners (listed in alphabetical order below):

* Destiny Eva Garcia, sponsored by CW3 Monette Madayag, attending Carthage College, Kenosha, WI.

* Joseph Habib, sponsored by CPT April Habib, attending Hampton University, Hampton, VA.

* Jaide Lee Rios-Rodriguez, sponsored by CW3 Nickgene Rios-Rodriguez, attending the University of Louisville, Louisville, KY.

* 1LT Kate Avila-Santos, attending Alverno College, Milwaukee, WI.

* Braydon Scott, sponsored by COL (Ret) Tony and CW3 (Ret) Shelby Teolis, attending the University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY.

* Jais Ward, sponsored by LTC (Ret) Ward D. Ward and Mrs. Bunnie Ward, attending Furman University, Greenville, SC.

The AGCRA Scholarship Program is in its 14th Year and has been able to provide $1,000 scholarship awards to highly qualified, deserving college-bound AGCRA members or Family members. All applicants who applied for the 2024 AGCRA Scholarship Program were highly qualified, and the competition was once again very competitive. Our winners were selected as best qualified to receive this year's scholarships based on their superior academic performance, community service, and ability to articulate future goals.

AGCRA Scholarship Program Milestone! With the selection of this year's six students and the renewal of last year's winners who have maintained a 3.0 GPA, AGCRA has now exceeded $90,000 in total scholarships awarded since we started our program in 2011 with the initial awarding of four $1,000 scholarships. In 2018, we awarded eight $1,000 scholarships (our highest year). The entire class of 2018 winners renewed their scholarships for a second year by maintaining a 3.0 GPA, the only time in program history that the whole class of recipients renewed for a second award.

AGCRA scholarships are primarily supported by sales of our historic AG Corps Print, "Washington's Watch Chain". You can own "Washington's Watch Chain", created by world-renowned artist Mort Kunstler, and help support scholarships for AGCRA members and their Families now by going to our Sutler Store. If you haven't already done so, please consider purchasing a Print and encourage your Association teammates to do the same.

Additionally, AGCRA Scholarship Program donations can be made directly from our website in our Sutler Store. Just look for the appropriate scholarship donation item.

Questions concerning the AGCRA Scholarship Program can be emailed to

Congratulations again to our 2024 AGCRA scholarship winners!